Latest Entries »

One of the most anticipated endings has finally arrived, and did it meet my expectations? Hell yeah it did. Here’s the thing, though—The Queen of Nothing calls back to some of the themes and elements used in the first two books, but rest assured Holly Black has taken the appropriate steps to give this finale a very special flair to make it stand out. We also get so much of everything we’ve come to love throughout this series, including more conspiracy and more manipulation (in other words, more Fae politics in general) as well as deeper look into the tantalizingly complex relationship between Jude and Cardan more…

Source: YA Weekend Audio: The Queen of Nothing by Holly Black | The BiblioSanctum

The nail-biting conclusion to the Lightbringer series!

Stripped of both magical and political power, the people he once ruled told he’s dead, and now imprisoned in his own magical dungeon, former Emperor Gavin Guile has no prospect of escape. But the world faces a calamity greater than the Seven Satrapies has ever seen… and only he can save it.As the armies o …more

Source: The Burning White (Lightbringer #5) by Brent Weeks | Goodreads

I’m bound to a demon.

For my entire life, I avoided magic at all costs. Now, I’m responsible for a demon who wields magic more powerful than the toughest mage or sorcerer.

Demons are evil.That’s what my textbooks say. That’s what I see. He’s ruthless, he’s temperamental, he’s cold. But he protects me without fail. I wonder if he’s hiding a …more

Source: Slaying Monsters for the Feeble by Annette Marie | Goodreads

Introducing The Time Police, the brand-new series by international bestselling author, Jodi Taylor – an irresistible spinoff from the much-loved Chronicles of St Mary’s series. Perfect reading for fans of Doctor Who, Ben Aaronovitch and Jasper Fforde.

At some time in the future, the secret of time-travel became available to all. Chaos ensued as people sought to take advantage. Because there will alwa…more

Source: Doing Time (The Time Police #1) by Jodi Taylor | Goodreads

FULL LENGTH NOVEL“We all are both heroes and villains in our own story.”

Niko is caught in a powerful spell that was cast from the very book he sought to protect. Trapped between life and death, his chances of returning look grim.

Gem is determined to set things right. Armed only with her innate knowledge of language, she begins her daunting quest to break the diabolical spell… no mat/>“We …more

Source: Spellbound (Crossbreed, #8; Mageriverse #22) by Dannika Dark | Goodreads

Gemma Robinson comes into Elliot’s life like a whirlwind, and they marry and settle into his home. When she asks him if her parents can come to stay for a couple of weeks, he is keen to oblige – he just doesn’t quite know what he’s signing up for.

The Robinsons arrive with Gemma’s sister, Chloe, a mysterious young woman who refuses to speak or leave her room. El …more

Source: Here To Stay by Mark Edwards | Goodreads

Bryce Simpson did the only thing he could. He spurned Marjorie Steel. Even though he’ll be living on her ranch, he is determined to stay away from her. She’s worthy of more than he can even think about giving, especially now that long-buried memories are surfacing and he’s learning that his father’s sins may go even deeper than he imagined.

Bryce’s rejection destroys Marjo …more

Source: Ravenous (Steel Brothers Saga #11) by Helen Hardt | Goodreads

Young Los Angeles public relations exec Suzie Fox is being blackmailed for sex by a bad cop, a senior officer of the LAPD no less. Suzie fights back the only way she knows how, and, in the process, unwittingly becomes a beacon, a shining light, for America’s Me Too movement and for abused women everywhere. But will justice be served?

Source: The Me Too Girl by Lance Morcan | Goodreads

From New York Times bestselling author Neal Shusterman comes the thrilling conclusion to the Printz Honor–winning series Arc of a Scythe.

It’s been three years since Rowan and Citra disappeared; since Scythe Goddard came into power; since the Thunderhead closed itself off to everyone but Grayson Tolliver.

In this pulse-pounding conclusion to New York Times best …more

Source: The Toll (Arc of a Scythe, #3) by Neal Shusterman | Goodreads

From New York Times bestselling author Kiersten White comes a new fantasy series reimagining the Arthurian legend, set in the magical world of Camelot.

There was nothing in the world as magical and terrifying as a girl.

Source: Book Review : The Guinevere Deception (Camelot Rising #1) by Kiersten White | Kitty Marie’s Reading Corner

 

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Night Circus, a timeless love story set in a secret underground world—a place of pirates, painters, lovers, liars, and ships that sail upon a starless sea.

Source: The Starless Sea by Erin Morgenstern – Witty and Sarcastic Bookclub

When one of the most dangerous grimoire’s in Austermeer seeks to escape the Great Library, foundling apprentice, Elisabeth, finds herself blocking it’s path. She must keep it from reaching the village where it could wreak havoc and kill many. Despite her humanity, Elisabeth manages the impossible, yet what should have been a victory turns her into a suspect and she’s sent off in the hands of sorcerer Nathanial Thorn and his demon servant, Silas. They soon discover that that’s not the only grimoire to be set free and they must find out who is behind these treacherous acts, or die trying.

Source: Friday YA: Sorcery of Thorns by Margaret Rogerson – The Reading Chick

Darkness wars with darkness as the hard-bitten men of the Black Company take their pay and do what they must. They bury their doubts with their dead.

Then comes the prophecy: The White Rose has been reborn, somewhere, to embody good once more…

This omnibus edition comprises The Black Company, Shadows Linger, and The White Rose―the first three novels in Glen Cook’s bestselli …more

Source: Chronicles of the Black Company by Glen Cook | Goodreads

I was tagged in this fantastic post by The Orangutan Librarian. I’m not attempting to write a book, but I’ll give it a go. Huzzah for participation! The Perfect Genre: pick a book that …

Source: The Perfect Book Tag – Witty and Sarcastic Bookclub

It’s amazing to look back and see how far this series has come. What began as a fantasy retelling of Pride & Prejudice has flourished and matured into a trilogy that is a phenomenon in its own right. Ever since Elle Katharine White started injecting more original ideas into the world of Heartstone, expanding the lore and enriching the characters and story with her own personal touch, things have started to really take off.

Flamebringer, the third and final volume, begins with Aliza and Alastair heading off into the wilderness in pursuit of Wydrick, the sworn enemy of the Daireds. Reanimated by a ghast, Wydrick is now immortal and more powerful than ever, and he has a dire warning for our characters more…

Source: Review: Flamebringer by Elle Katharine White | The BiblioSanctum

Jane Yellowrock must dig deep and find strength within herself if she is to survive in the latest novel in this New York Times bestselling series.

Jane Yellowrock is a shapeshifting skinwalker, and vampire killer-for-hire, but her last battle with an ancient arcane enemy has brought her low. She seeks retreat in the Appalachian Mountains to grieve the loss of her friends, and …more

Source: Shattered Bonds (Jane Yellowrock, #13) by Faith Hunter | Goodreads

From New York Times Bestselling Author, Kristen Proby, comes an all new paranormal romance set in the mystical city of New Orleans…

I am never alone. Not even when I am alone.I see the unquiet dead, the souls that wander through the French Quarter.They can’t move on, and I can’t stop seeing them.I wear malachite for protection, and I control what I let in. It’s the onl …more

Source: Shadows (Bayou Magic #1) by Kristen Proby | Goodreads

Groom? Check.

Dress? Check.

Cake? Check.

More cake? Double Check.

Even more cake? Triple check.(Seriously, who left Lethe alone with Grier’s credit card?)Anything that can go wrong has,but all the deposits have been paid, and the menus are set. Mostly. There’s always room for more cake, right? All that’s left is for Grier and Linus to exchange vows a …more

Source: How to Kiss an Undead Bride: The Epilogues by Hailey Edwards | Goodreads

In 1872, New Orleans is a city ruled by the dead. But to seventeen-year-old Celine Rousseau, New Orleans provides her a refuge after she’s forced to flee her life as a dressmaker in Paris. Taken in by the sisters of the Ursuline convent along with six other girls, Celine quickly becomes enamored with the vibrant city from the music to the food to the soirées and—especially—to the danger. She soon becomes embroiled in the city’s glitzy underworld, known as La Cour des Lions, after catching the eye of the group’s leader, the enigmatic Sébastien Saint Germain. When the body of one of the girls from the convent is found in the lair of La Cour des Lions, Celine battles her attraction to him and suspicions about Sébastien’s guilt along with the shame of her own horrible secret more…

Source: The Beautiful by Renee Ahdieh – Bookwhit

A city of snow and wind.A logistical nightmare when running a mission……or an opportunity to explore new sartorial delights?

Rory has faced many challenges in her time, but none quite so frustrating as mastering the art of walking in a corset and bustle.

She has to pass herself off as a wealthy heiress to infiltrate the House of Bel, a mysterious and highly exclusive club for Airnian high society, and of course her true identity must remain hidden at all costs.

Source: #BookReview of The White Hornet by @CelineJeanjean #fantasy #steampunk #scifi | Barb Taub

The Limbo is where all souls — human or otherwise — go to after dying. Some don’t realize where they are. Death is a hard habit to get used to. Gods and mythological figures also dwell in the plane, borne from humanity’s beliefs.

A forsaken spirit is awakened and ordered to dispatch 12 souls back to Earth to prevent the apocalypse. Many don’t take kindly to the return. Accompanied by an imprisoned mad god, the spirit must compel them.

Each of the 12 unlocks a piece of the forsaken spirit’s true identity. Memories unfold and past wounds bleed again.

Source: Limbo by Thiago d’Evecque – Witty and Sarcastic Bookclub

 

Sweep of the Blade is the first novel to not feature Innkeeper Dina Demille. Instead, we learn her sister Maud’s fascinating story of love, heartbreak and honor. Seeing through Maud’s e…

Source: This Chick Read: Sweep of the Blade (Innkeepers #4) by Ilona Andrews – The Reading Chick

“Absolutely spellbinding.” —Stephanie Garber, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Caraval and Legendary

In a lush, contemporary fantasy retelling of Beauty and the Beast, Brigid Kemmerer gives readers another compulsively readable romance perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer.

Fall in love, break the curse.

Source: Book Review: A Curse So Dark And Lonely – librorum in sempiternum