Latest Entries »

Emmett Atwater isn’t just leaving Detroit; he’s leaving Earth. Why the Babel Corporation recruited him is a mystery, but the number of zeroes on their contract has him boarding their lightship and hoping to return to Earth with enough money to take care of his family.

Forever.Before long, Emmett discovers that he is one of ten recruits, all of whom have troubled pasts and a …more

Source: Nyxia (The Nyxia Triad, #1) by Scott Reintgen | Goodreads

When Kiera and her friends return from the dead, they soon realise that the world is not the same – it has been pushed. Returning to Hallowed Manor, Kiera soon learns that it’s not only the world that has changed, she is changing, too.

Asked to help solve the murder of missing school teacher, Emily Clarke, Kiera and her friends soon discover that they are now living in a w …more

Source: Dead Flesh (Kiera Hudson Series Two, #1) by Tim O’Rourke | Goodreads

 

This book is a remarkable tale of pulse-pounding excitement with a uniquely sympathetic, fascinating portrait of the werewolf as noble warrior-and conflicted being. Complex, compelling and utterly real.

Source: The Wolf’s Hour by Robert R. McCammon | Goodreads

Little Darlings is exactly the type of mystery/thriller I love to read, containing just a touch of the paranormal and enough creepiness to push this one into almost horror territory. Best of all, it features allusions to the changeling myth, the idea that fairies could steal a baby away, leaving behind an altered or possibly evil simulacrum in its place.

Source: Book Review: Little Darlings by Melanie Golding | The BiblioSanctum

GunBibbleDibble PugSnaggerFoo Glop!  Thanks muchly to all those sex-powered folks (aren’t we all generated and powered from a slappy-slap sesh?  Don’t be prude.) who bought Echo on Kind…

Source: Thank You, Recent Echo Purchasers and Readers!!! – Dirty Sci-Fi Buddha

After Roland Emmerich’s disastrous remake of Godzilla 1998 was critically panned by critics, (most notably Gene Siskel & Roger Ebert) longtime fans and movie goers. Japanese movie studio,…

Source: Flashback Review: Godzilla 2000 – Nickthemoviecritic.com

No one screws with my family.

My sister and I are human orphans raised by the world’s best assassin, taught to steal and kill our way through the dragonlands under her watchful eye. Grown men fear us, and no one knows we’re coming until it’s too late to run.

Source: Reign of Dragons (Dragon Dojo Brotherhood #1) by Olivia Ash | Goodreads

The Shadow Boy was on his way to visit while she languished above a labyrinth of verdant shrubs.He saw a blond child levitating outside the window of the monorail. Shadow Boy was intrigued.Was the blond child looking for his shadow?  Could he catch it with his arrow?The Shadow Boy examined the boy for clues.The “boy” had pixie ears and breasts.This wasn’t his boy.Trina waved at the Shadow Boy and motioned for him to join her. The boy hesitated. Trina wondered why.  Perhaps because the sun was going down.The Shadow Boy shouldn’t be afraid of the dark.  Besides there’s a streetlight.

Source: An Extra (Special) Story — Trina Woke from a Dream | Teagan’s Books

When a beloved family dog is stolen, her owner sets out on a life-changing journey through the ruins of our world to bring her back in this fiercely compelling tale of survival, courage, and hope. Perfect for readers of Station Eleven and The Girl With All the Gifts.

My name’s Griz. My childhood wasn’t like yours. I’ve never had friends, and in my whole life I’ve not met enough people to play a game of football.

My parents told me how crowded the world used to be, but we were never lonely on our remote island. We had each other, and our dogs.

Source: A Boy and his Dog at the end of the World by C.A. Fletcher – Blog Tour – HERDING CATS

Finale is a story about the meaning of love and how that meaning changes for each of the characters in this story. Tella’s love for Legend is tested by her confusing feelings for Jacks and Scarlett’s love for Julian is never wavering but her definition of love changes when she uncovers some truths about her past. Both of their journeys are tested but eventually love conquers all, and in this novel you can’t take that statement literally.

Source: Friday YA: Finale (Caraval #3) by Stephanie Garber – The Reading Chick

In her bestselling Alpha and Omega series, Patricia Briggs “spins tales of werewolves, coyote shifters, and magic and, my, does she do it well” (USATODAY.com). Now mated werewolves Charles Cornick and Anna Latham face a threat like no other–one that lurks too close to home…

They are the wild and the broken. The werewolves too damaged to live safely among their own kind. For …more

Source: Burn Bright by Patricia Briggs | Goodreads

A missing child. A desperate mother. And a house full of secrets.

Two years ago, Julia lost her family in a tragic accident. Her husband drowned trying to save their daughter, Lily, in the river near their rural home. But the little girl’s body was never found—and Julia believes Lily is somehow still alive.

Alone and broke, Julia opens her house as a writers’ retreat. One of …more

Source: The Retreat by Mark Edwards | Goodreads

Colette Moore is set to inherit one of the biggest studios in Hollywood. She grew up out of the spotlight but now that she’s taken on a new role in the company, she has to learn to deal with the drama. Like mixing business with pleasure.

Tyson Grant is one of the top agents in the business, with a reputation for getting the job done. He’s a Hollywood insider who knows ever …more

Source: Heiress by Fiona Davenport | Goodreads

Today, Netflix released its Season 5 trailer for their smash hit series Black Mirror. Check out the trailer below: Black Mirror was the new Twilight Zone before Jordan Peele’s reboot launched. It w…

Source: Black Mirror Season 5 goes even more pop – Binge Sequence

They’ve exterminated an entire bloodline, purging the world of the only creatures vampires dread. Or so they think.

Chloe used to study hard, do everything right to pave a bright future, but children sometimes have to pay for their parents’ sins, and Chloe’s tab is pretty steep. At twenty-six, when a series of attacks forces her to seek refuge in the notorious Institute of …more

Source: After Darkness Falls (After Darkness Falls, #1) by May Sage | Goodreads

Robert E. Howard is one of the most famous and influential pulp authors of the twentieth century. Though largely known as the man who invented the sword-and-sorcery genre-and for his iconic hero Conan the Cimmerian-Howard also wrote horror tales, desert adventures, detective yarns, epic poetry, and more. This spectacular volume, gorgeously illustrated by Jim and Ruth Keega …more

Source: The Best of Robert E. Howard: Crimson Shadows by Robert E. Howard | Goodreads

The Complete Kane Book 4 from Centipede Press

A quest that took Kane into forbidden wastelands, and tested his killer skills against the most brutal forces ever summoned against a single man. Kane knew he’d lost his strength, and perhaps his soul, when he entered the erotic web of the vampire.

Source: Death Angel’s Shadow by Karl Edward Wagner | Goodreads

Ready Player One meets Stranger Things in this new novel by the bestselling author who George RR Martin describes as “an excellent writer.” In January 1986, fifteen-year-old boy-genius Nick Hayes d…

Source: One Word Kill by Mark Lawrence- ARC Review – Witty and Sarcastic Bookclub

When I first landed a bartending job at the local guild, I didn’t know a thing about magic. These days, I’m practically an expert on the different magical classes, but there’s one nobody ever talks about: Demonica.

Turns out they have a good reason for that.My guild is strictly hellion-free, but some people will risk life and soul to control the biggest bullies on the mythi …more

Source: Demon Magic and a Martini by Annette Marie | Goodreads

The gripping fifth installment in the New York Times, USA Today, and Publishers Weekly bestselling Shatter Me series. Will Juliette’s broken heart make her vulnerable to the strengthening darkness within her?

Juliette’s short tenure as the supreme commander of North America has been an utter disaster. When the children of the other world leaders show up on her doorstep, she …more

Source: Defy Me (Shatter Me, #5) by Tahereh Mafi | Goodreads

DOGGEM is a spooky little tale about toy dogs and dark doings. A gently disturbing horror story. But beware, this charming cocktail of witchcraft, imagined folklore and paranormal fantasy might just bewitch you.Not easy to pin down genre. Without doubt it has a certain heart-breaking beauty to it. Maybe it’s a modern fairytale. A scary one, flavoured with a dash of the occult, written for an adult audience. After all, fairy tales feature the supernatural and have a magical aspect to them.

They often have old cottages and eerie, unnerving woodland settings.Wickedly enchanting women and innocent children.Ancient evil and everyday greed.

Source: #BookReview Doggem by @john_f_leonard #RBRT #Horror #TuesdayBookBlog #ShortStory – I Write. I Read. I Review

When Natalie Powers returns home for the first time in thirteen years, she must convince everyone she has fully recovered from the mental illness, which has seen her institutionalised for most of her young life.

But instead of being welcomed back, Natalie enters a baffling world of deception. She must fight her way through the lies in order to discover the truth about her mother’s sudden disappearance sixteen years earlier. To do this, Natalie must also try to make sense of the hazy memories from the past that continue to haunt her.

Source: The Butcher’s Daughter by Jane E James – Book Review – The Bookwormery

Moving to a space station at the edge of the galaxy was always going to be the death of Hanna’s social life. Nobody said it might actually get her killed.

The sci-fi saga that began with the breakout bestseller Illuminae continues on board the Jump Station Heimdall, where two new characters will confront the next wave of the BeiTech assault.Hanna is the station captain’s pa …more

Source: Gemina (The Illuminae Files, #2) by Amie Kaufman | Goodreads