Category: Fantasy the Gifts: Books, News, Art, Gift Collectibles, and Product Resources


SDCC 2019: Doctor Doom Gets His Own Ongoing Series This October. Check out Marvel’s latest news, articles, and press on Marvel.com!

Source: SDCC 2019: Doctor Doom Gets His Own Ongoing Series This October | News | Marvel

Assemble Your Ultimate Team of Marvel Super Heroes with MARVEL ULTIMATE ALLIANCE 3: The Black Order Available NOW. Check out Marvel’s latest news, articles, and press on Marvel.com!

Source: Assemble Your Ultimate Team of Marvel Super Heroes with MARVEL ULTIMATE ALLIANCE 3: The Black Order Available NOW | News | Marvel

Kilid, the Lord of Sin, betrayed their creator Erodemus to obtain their soul and proclaim themself ruler of the mortal and immortal realms. They realized the potential of manipulating the entire pantheon of gods, and soon, his plan became more than simple regicide and usurpation. They now planned to rule the cosmos and their kin with it. They split the soul of Erodemus after their murder, but it was tainted with a manipulation spell. But this plan was destined to fail, after the prophetic Ariantus broke Kilid’s manipulation spell. She then used her sliver of Erodemus’ soul to summon a mortal to Erodemus named Ithius to reclaim the land. Kilid, unknowing, sits atop his throne of hate and lies, ignorant of his inevitable downfall…or so she hopes.

Source: Souls of Erodemus Lore: Kilid, Lord of Sin – The Lorus Atlas

Episode 3 of Demon Lord Retry gives us the most interesting development yet. While the episode execution is still undeniably poor and so many of the jokes fall flat, for instance the older holy maiden sister talking trash and swearing continuously before falling head-over-heels in love with the demon lord’s alter-ego, there’s an element of fun in the second part of this episode that has been sorely lacking up until this point.

Source: Maou-Sama, Retry! Review Episode 3 – 100 Word Anime

He awakens encapsulated in dirt with no knowledge of how he came to be there. Riddled with injuries, he can remember neither his past nor who he is. Nor can he remember what he is. But surely no mortal man could survive being buried deep beneath the earth. All he knows with certainty is that the soothing voice and presence of the woman moving around above enables him to endure the agony of his wounds. And he will do whatever it takes to be with her.

Source: Awaken the Darkness by Dianne Duvall (Review) – Lady Book Dragon

Toxic mist drives all life to the brink of destruction and the conqueror queen, Ines, has her talons in the kings of the realm.

Bleak, having discovered her true heritage, must now scour the lands for the one thing that might save them all.

But the search is a treacherous one – and it will push her to the very limits of endurance.

Source: BLOG TOUR || War of Mist by Helen Scheuerer – Rambles of a Reader

My name is Vinna, and my magic is an asshole.

I mean, what else would you call it when it does whatever it wants, whenever it wants?

Now I have Enoch and his coven looking at me like I’m the one, and a bunch of pissed off Chosen.

I have no answers and no time to deal with this shit. Lachlan and Keegan managed to get themselves caught by Adriel, the big bad lamia who murders a …more

Source: The Marked and the Broken (The Lost Sentinel, #3) by Ivy Asher | Goodreads

Deep within the enchanted woods in the town of Watch Hollow stands the once-grand Blackford House, whose halls hold a magical secret: a giant cuckoo clock that does much more than tell time. But when the clock’s gears cease to turn, an evil presence lurking among the trees begins to come out of the shadows.

When Lucy and Oliver Tinker arrive in Watch Hollow, they have no idea that anything is wrong. A mysterious stranger has made their father an offer that’s too good for him to refuse. All Mr. Tinker needs to do is fix the clock at Blackford House and fistfuls of gold coins are his to keep.

Source: “Watch Hollow” by Gregory Funaro | Zezee with Books

Synopsis: In the summer of 1901, at the age of seven, January Scaller found a Door. You know the kind of door—-the lead to Faerie, to Valhalla, to Atlantis, to all the places never found on a map.

Years late, January has forgotten her brief glimpse of elsewhere. Her life is quiet and lonely but safe on her guardian’s estate, until one day she stumbles across a strange book. A book that carries the scent of other worlds in its pages, and tells a tale of secret doors, of love, adventure, and danger. A book that might lead her back to the half-remembered door of her childhood.

Source: The Ten Thousand Doors of January, by Alix E. Harrow ~ 5.0 Stars | By Hook Or By Book

Print

 

It was just another Tuesday morning when she walked into the office–young, as I suspected they all might be, another dark brunette with some assistance and enough eye black to match up to Cleopatra. And who am I? I’m Ray, the world’s last robot, famed and feared in equal measure, which suits me just fine–after all, the last place you’d expect to find a Hollywood’s best hit man is in the plain light of day.

Raymond Electromatic is good at his job, as good as he ever was at being a true Private Investigator, the lone employee of the Electromatic Detective Agency–except for Ada, office gal and super-computer, the constant voice in Ray’s inner ear. Ray might have taken up a new line of work, but money is money, after all, and he was programmed to make a profit. Besides, with his twenty-four-hour memory-tape limits, he sure can keep a secret.

Source: Made to Kill: a Review – Speedy Reader

In 1872, New Orleans is a city ruled by the dead. But to seventeen-year-old Celine Rousseau, New Orleans provides her a refuge after she’s forced to flee her life as a dressmaker in Paris. Taken in by the sisters of the Ursuline convent along with six other girls, Celine quickly becomes enamored with the vibrant city from the music to the food to the soirées and—especially—to the danger. She soon becomes embroiled in the city’s glitzy underworld, known as La Cour des Lions, after catching the eye of the group’s leader, the enigmatic Sébastien Saint Germain. When the body of one of the girls from the convent is found in the lair of La Cour des Lions, Celine battles her attraction to him and suspicions about Sébastien’s guilt along with the shame of her own horrible secret more…

Source: Review: The Beautiful |

In this powerful entry in the #1 New York Times bestselling series, Mercy Thompson must face a deadly enemy to defend all she loves…

My name is Mercedes Athena Thompson Hauptman, and I am a car mechanic.And a coyote shapeshifter.And the mate of the Alpha of the Columbia Basin werewolf pack.Even so, none of that would have gotten me into trouble if, a few months ago, I had …more

Source: Storm Cursed (Mercy Thompson, #11) by Patricia Briggs | Goodreads

Train to Busan tops all the other zombie movies I have ever watched. You would assume that it would be scary because of the zombies.

If anything, it felt like a “mature” family movie. The only scary aspect is the zombies.Seok-woo (Gong Yoo), a divorced fund manager, must take his child, Su-an (Kim Su-an), to Busan, to visit her mother. However, while on the train to Busan, the entire country, South Korea, gets taken over by zombies. Now the passengers on the train must fight to survive and hope that they can take refuge in Busan, the last city offering refuge to humans.

Source: Zombies on a Train: Thoughts on Train to Busan – Just Something About LynLyn

“Waiting On Wednesday” is a weekly meme that first originated at Breaking the Spine but has since linked up with “Can’t Wait Wednesday” at Wishful Endings now that the original creator is unable to…

Source: Waiting on Wednesday 07/17/19 | The BiblioSanctum

A decadent rock star. A deeply religious radio host. A disgraced scientist. And a teenage girl who may be the world’s last hope. In the tradition of The Stand and Station Eleven comes a gripping saga that weaves an epic tapestry of humanity into an astonishing tale of survival.

Source: Wanderers by Chuck Wendig – Book Review – The Bookwormery

Captain’s Journal. Date. August? Is it August yet? Time is weird when you’re over 30. Dear content consumer, I could not help myself from returning to you so soon after our last chat. This is a big…

Source: Planet Hopping – The Carina–Sagittarius Arm | Shawn Writes Stuff

My lady, pretty lady,I am a desperate wanderer in search of deeper meaning.

I knew I should be reaching,to the only one who can teach me.

Bless me with thy teeth,piercing flesh,washing away my bitter failure,the blood that thy need.

No longer shall I bow in defeat. My enemies will support my feet,while I stand on their shallow grave. You maybe think of me a fool to ask you to kill me,but it comes easy for those who have nothing left to live for.

Source: Drain me – The frantic pen

Death this way comes to souls who break Fae law. So it is written. So carved in blood. Mighty are the Fae who watch us all.

I’m screwed. Royally screwed. Of all the ways to mess up, I picked a real gem this time—of the hot shifter sort. Especially because I’m the crowned elven princess.A forbidden soul mating with the cruel King Athon was not why I attended the royal sum …more

Source: Marvels and Misfits (Trixie Towers, #1) by Scarlett Dawn | Goodreads

A defector with a dangerous lead

A chance to speak for the silent

A perilous quest into enemy stars

When the star system of Legatus was preparing to secede from the Protectorate of the Mage-King of Mars, it was the secret agents of the Legatan Military Intelligence Directorate that laid the groundwork and fought the covert war to make it happen. Now, as the open conflict dra …more

Source: Sword of Mars (Starship’s Mage, #7) by Glynn Stewart | Goodreads

Loving me is like Heaven It can also be like Hell

I can be all the Angel you’ll ever need or the Demon you seek shelter from as you hide behind your secrecy

I can fulfill all your life long fantasies Or have you begging for mercy from your knees

I can let your hunger feed on my needs or leave you thirsting for one last kiss and exquisite release more…

Source: It’s up to You – The Broken Inside of Me

Borderlands Saga #2 Contemporary Fantasy, Magical Realism Paperback & ebook 2020 by SilverWoodSketches In a single night of madness, Amie won the battle, and lost the two people she loved most.…

Source: Cover Reveal – Blackbriar Cove by Jennifer Silverwood @PrismBookTours @JennSilverwood #BlackCoveCR #BookBlogger #fantasy – Shalini’s Books & Reviews

Magic, murder, adventure, and romance combine in this second novel in the exciting Crown of Shards saga from New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jennifer Estep.Everleigh

Blair might be the new gladiator queen of Bellona, but her problems are far from over.

First, Evie has to deal with a court full of arrogant, demanding nobles, all of whom want to get their gree …more

Source: Protect the Prince (Crown of Shards, #2) by Jennifer Estep | Goodreads

In medieval times, two things were commonplace: trial by combat and family dysfunction. Throughout medieval history, noble families often fought one another for power and status. Easily one of the most extreme examples was the War of the Roses, which resulted in a 30 year blood feud between York and Lancaster, who were both related to one another and both coveted the throne of England. Trial by combat was often a way for people to settle disputes in a more fair and civilized fashion more…

Source: TRIAL BY FIRE | Grady P Brown – Author